CES logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is A CES?

TL;DR
  • CES here means Certified Environmental Scientist, administered through the National Registry of Environmental Professionals (NREP).
  • The legacy specification lists 100 multiple-choice questions, two hours, and a 75% passing score.
  • Air is 32% of the exam; Air, Water, and Waste together total 80%.
  • Application plus exam fees subtotal $415, with annual renewal requiring 15 approved CE contact hours.

What a CES Actually Is

A CES is a Certified Environmental Scientist, a professional credential for people who work across the core regulatory and technical areas of environmental science: air quality, water, and waste, with smaller components covering brownfields, green chemistry and radiation, pesticides, and human health and environmental ethics. The designation signals that a practitioner has met an experience-and-education threshold and passed a standardized knowledge exam.

The acronym causes confusion because several unrelated credentials in other fields share the same three letters. Everything on this page concerns the environmental science credential only. If you arrived looking for the broader naming question, our short explainers on what CES stands for and CES meaning cover the terminology, while this article focuses on what the credential is, how the exam is built, and how candidates qualify.

Think of it as a generalist's certification. It is not a deep specialty credential in one medium. Instead, it tests whether you can speak competently across the major environmental programs a working scientist or compliance professional encounters: the Clean Air Act world, water quality and treatment, solid and hazardous waste, and the supporting topics around them.

Who Runs the Credential

The credential is administered through the National Registry of Environmental Professionals (NREP). NREP handles applications, exam delivery, and ongoing registration. No separate testing vendor has been verified for the CES, so candidates should treat NREP as the single point of contact for application status, exam links, and renewal.

That matters practically. Because there is no third-party test-center network confirmed for this exam, the delivery model described in the legacy specification is an online, emailed-link format rather than a walk-in appointment at a testing center. Details such as online proctoring, calculator policy, or adaptive delivery have not been verified, so confirm those directly with NREP before exam day. For a deeper look at the broader credential landscape, see our overview of CES certification.

Why the administrator matters: Fees, renewal rules, application validity, and exam logistics all flow from NREP, not from a university or an exam vendor. When any detail in a blog post (including this one) conflicts with NREP's current published materials, NREP wins.

What the Exam Looks Like

The official indexed legacy specification describes the exam this way:

ElementLegacy Specification
Question count100 questions
Question typeMultiple choice
Time allowedTwo hours
Passing score75%
Reference policyIntended closed-book
DeliveryOnline, via emailed link
Scored vs. unscored itemsNot disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed

A few implications follow from those numbers. Two hours for 100 questions averages out to roughly 72 seconds per item, which is comfortable for recall questions but tight for anything requiring a calculation or a multi-step regulatory reasoning chain. A 75% threshold means you can miss up to 25 questions if all 100 count toward the score, though because the scored/unscored split is not disclosed, you should not plan around a precise miss budget.

Because the exam is intended to be closed-book, you cannot lean on lookup skills. You need working command of definitions, thresholds, program names, and the logic connecting regulatory programs. Our breakdown of the CES passing score digs into what the 75% cut means in practice, and the CES pass rate article explains why no reliable pass-rate figure can currently be cited.

A caution on the specification itself: The 100-question, two-hour, 75% specification and the seven-domain table lack a verified effective year, and they are not confirmed as a new 2026 version. The original outline URL also returns a 404. Treat the format as the best available published description, not a guarantee about the exam you will sit.

The Seven Domains and Where the Points Are

The domain weights are heavily lopsided, and that shapes everything about smart preparation. Here is the full table:

DomainWeight
Domain 1: Air32%
Domain 2: Water24%
Domain 3: Waste24%
Domain 4: Brownfields1%
Domain 5: Green Chemistry and Radiation6%
Domain 6: Pesticides6%
Domain 7: Human Health and Environmental Ethics7%

Air alone is 32%, and Air plus Water plus Waste totals 80%. In other words, four of every five questions come from the three big media areas. The remaining four domains share just 20% between them, and one of those, Brownfields at 1%, is almost a rounding error. The full treatment lives in our complete guide to the seven CES content areas; here is the orientation you need.

Domain 1: Air (32%)

The single largest block. Expect questions that reward familiarity with how air regulation is structured and how pollutants are categorized and controlled.

  • Regulatory framework for ambient air quality and emission sources
  • Pollutant categories and the logic of how they are managed
  • Control technologies and monitoring concepts at a working-knowledge level

Domain 2: Water (24%)

Water questions span quality, treatment, and the regulatory programs governing discharges and drinking supply.

  • Distinguishing drinking-water programs from discharge and surface-water programs
  • Basic treatment and quality parameters
  • How permitting and compliance concepts connect to the underlying science

Domain 3: Waste (24%)

Solid and hazardous waste management, with emphasis on how materials are classified, handled, and tracked.

  • Waste classification and the reasoning behind it
  • Cradle-to-grave management concepts
  • Remediation and disposal considerations at a conceptual level

Domains 4 through 7: The Supporting Cast

Brownfields (1%), Green Chemistry and Radiation (6%), Pesticides (6%), and Human Health and Environmental Ethics (7%) together make up the remaining 20%.

  • Brownfields: a sliver of the exam; know the basic concept and move on
  • Green Chemistry and Radiation: principles-level understanding, two topics bundled into one domain
  • Pesticides: regulatory and risk fundamentals
  • Human Health and Environmental Ethics: the largest of the minor domains at 7%, blending exposure and risk concepts with professional conduct

One practical insight: because Green Chemistry and Radiation is a combined domain at only 6%, you will see relatively few questions on each half. That makes it a poor place to sink study hours compared with Air, where a single weak sub-area can cost you several points.

Who Qualifies to Sit for It

The credential is experience-gated, not open to anyone who can pay the fee. Candidates qualify through one of two routes:

  • Education route: an environmentally related bachelor's degree, plus three additional years of experience in environmental science.
  • Experience route: 12 years of acceptable experience can replace the education requirement, again plus three additional years in environmental science.

Fixed requirements around references or training hours have not been verified, so do not assume a particular number of references is needed, and do not assume there is none. Check NREP's current application materials. Our CES requirements guide walks through how to document qualifying experience and what "environmentally related" is likely to cover.

Key Takeaway

If your degree is only loosely environmental, or you have no degree, start assembling a dated work-history narrative before you apply. The three-years-in-environmental-science requirement applies on both routes, so vague experience descriptions are the likeliest application snag.

Fees, Renewal, and the Money Side

Current USD fees from the verified facts are straightforward:

ItemAmount (USD)
Application fee$145
Exam fee$270
Application + exam subtotal$415 (excluding additional charges)
Retake fee$170
Study guide$180
Sample paper$80

No standard member/nonmember pricing split is published, and whether purchasing NREP's materials is required (versus optional) needs confirmation. If you buy both the guide and the sample paper, add $260 to the $415 subtotal; that is optional-materials math, not a mandatory fee. A failed first attempt followed by a retake adds $170. We break the full picture down in the CES certification cost guide.

Renewal Mechanics

The credential is maintained annually. Renewal requires 15 approved CE contact hours, and listed registration prices are $145 for one year, $305 for three years, and $495 for five years, with a $50 late fee. The multi-year options cost less per year than renewing annually: three years works out to a bit over $100 per year, and five years to $99 per year, compared with $145 for a single year. If you plan to stay in the field, the longer terms are the cheaper path, provided you are confident you will keep up the CE hours.

Timing Details to Verify

The current application is described as valid for three months. Wording around the exam-link deadline is generic and needs clarification, so do not assume a particular window for taking the exam after approval. Our CES exam dates article covers what can and cannot be stated about scheduling. Whether the credential pays for itself is a separate question we address in the ROI analysis.

Where a CES Credential Gets Used

Because the exam is built around air, water, and waste, the credential is most naturally relevant to roles that touch regulatory compliance and environmental assessment. Typical settings include environmental consulting firms, industrial facilities with permitting obligations, municipal and state environmental programs, and engineering or remediation contractors. The credential tends to function as a professional-standing signal rather than a licensure requirement: it can strengthen a resume or support credibility on client-facing work.

We deliberately avoid quoting salary numbers here, since no verified compensation data supports a specific figure. If earnings are your main question, our CES salary guide discusses what drives pay qualitatively, and the CES jobs overview looks at the role types where the credential appears.

Sequencing Your Prep Around the Weights

You do not need an elaborate methodology. You need to match study time to where the points are. A reasonable sequence for the 80% core, then the 20% remainder:

Weeks 1-2

Air (32%)

  • Start here because it is the largest domain and the broadest
  • Build a one-page map of the regulatory structure and pollutant categories
  • Finish with a timed set of Air-only questions
Weeks 3-4

Water and Waste (24% each)

  • Study Water first, then Waste, since classification logic in Waste benefits from a fresh head
  • Contrast the programs within each domain so you can tell similar-sounding rules apart
Week 5

The 20% Remainder

  • Spend the most time on Human Health and Environmental Ethics (7%)
  • Keep Green Chemistry and Radiation and Pesticides to principles-level review
  • Give Brownfields (1%) a single short session
Week 6

Mixed Timed Practice

  • Take full 100-question sets in two-hour blocks, closed-book
  • Review misses by domain and loop back to the weakest of the big three

This is a sample sequence, not a rule. Adjust the length to your background: someone working daily in air permitting can compress Week 1, while someone from a waste-management background may need the opposite. Our full CES study guide expands on resources and pacing, and how hard the CES exam really is helps you judge how much preparation time your starting point demands. For quick last-pass review, the CES cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts.

When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, our CES practice tests let you drill by domain and simulate the closed-book, timed format described above.

What Isn't Confirmed Yet

Responsible exam prep means knowing what you cannot assume. The following items are unverified or undisclosed as of this writing:

  • The effective year of the published exam specification and domain table
  • Whether the format is a confirmed 2026 version
  • The scored versus unscored question split
  • Any published pass rate
  • Calculator rules, adaptive delivery, and online proctoring details
  • Fixed reference or training-hour requirements for the application
  • Whether purchasing NREP study materials is mandatory
  • The exact exam-link deadline after application approval

Before paying fees, email or call NREP and ask about each item that affects your plan. Candidates who rely on a secondhand summary, including this one, risk preparing for a format that has changed. For a broader introduction to the credential's identity, you can also see what CES certification is and our explainer on what CES means.

Bottom line: A CES is an experience-gated environmental science credential built overwhelmingly around air, water, and waste. If you qualify on paper, budget roughly $415 for application and exam, plan your study around the 80% core, and confirm the unverified logistics with NREP before you commit.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CES stand for in this context?

It stands for Certified Environmental Scientist, a credential administered through the National Registry of Environmental Professionals (NREP). It is unrelated to other credentials that share the same acronym.

How many questions are on the exam and what score do I need?

The official indexed legacy specification lists 100 multiple-choice questions over two hours with a 75% passing score. The specification lacks a verified effective year, so confirm current details with NREP.

Which domains matter most?

Air is the largest at 32%, followed by Water and Waste at 24% each. Together, Air, Water, and Waste make up 80% of the exam, so they deserve the bulk of your study time.

How much does it cost to get certified?

The application is $145 and the exam is $270, for a $415 subtotal excluding additional charges. A retake costs $170, and optional NREP materials include a $180 guide and an $80 sample paper.

Who is eligible to take the exam?

Candidates need an environmentally related bachelor's degree or 12 years of acceptable experience in place of education, plus three additional years in environmental science. Reference and training-hour requirements are unverified, so check NREP's current application.

How do I keep the credential active?

Renewal is annual and requires 15 approved CE contact hours. Listed registration prices are $145 for one year, $305 for three years, and $495 for five years, with a $50 late fee.

Ready to pass your CES exam?

Put this into practice with free CES questions across every exam domain.